Knitters You Should Know: Lingy

For the second interview of the weekend, meet Lingy! Roseann is a graphic designer from California, and documents her beautiful photography on her tumblr.  Hundreds of people have ‘favorited’ Lingy’s projects on Ravelry- for a reason!  Her knits are completed with impeccable taste; lovely colors and beautiful patterns culminate in enchanting photographs.  I first found Lingy’s profile when she posted pictures from her engagement photoshoot, a little red riding hood theme in which she wore her sylvi!  All of her projects have the same captivating atmosphere- make sure to check out her ravelry page to see all of her amazing work.

How did you get into knitting?

I first got into knitting when I was twelve and saw my grandmother knitting while watching TV. I only learned the knit stitch from her and she always had to cast on for me, but it was fun. My interest in knitting re-ignited almost four years ago when I was looking for a craft to do in my spare time after work. I saw all these gorgeous clothes one could knit from patterns and the rest was history.

Do you have a ‘real world’ job other than knitting? If so, what do you do?

Yep, I’m a graphic designer currently working on creating interfaces for social games on Facebook.

Where are you from? 

I’m from Milpitas, California, but am currently in San Jose. There’s not much to say about San Jose… it’s pretty much the pits compared to someplace actually cool, like San Francisco! I guess we’re the home of the Sharks! And we have a lot of computer engineers.

What is your favorite knitting spot? Do you have an ‘artistic process’ when it comes to knitting, or do you bring the needles wherever you go?

My favorite knitting spot is in front of my laptop. I can watch something on Hulu, reference the pattern I’m following on the computer, and chat with friends. I like to multitask. I don’t have an ‘artistic process.’ I just pick up the needles when I feel like it and start knitting.

Describe your average day.

My average day consists of working in Photoshop and Flash, petting the cats, watching a horrible movie with my husband, moving my butt in Zumba class, and ending the day with some video games or knitting.

Tell me about your favorite project.

I have a few favorites. I still love the Butterfly Vest by Jennie Atkinson because I still can’t believe I actually had the patience and concentration to knit it. It is still by far the most challenging piece of knitting I’ve ever done in that it was SO easy to mess up if I didn’t devote one hundred percent of my attention to it (thank goodness, by the way, for lifelines). Sylvi by Mari Muinonen still strikes me as crazy and cerebral whenever I look at it in my closet; the original design is just beautiful. I also really like the Truffle Cardigan, which Megan Rogers created a tutorial for based on an Anthropologie design. I think it was the first time I was able to knit a garment from someone’s rough notes so it felt like an accomplishment for me.

If you could have one splurge knitting purchase and project, what would it be?

Hmm, probably some cashmere yarn and I’d knit a big ol’ blanket out of it.

Who is your favorite knitwear designer and why?

I’ve been a big fan of Wenlan Chia’s Twinkle designs because they look iconic and high fashion. There’s no one who really designs knitwear like she does that I know of, at least. I also really like Tiny Owl Knits’ designs because they’re so whimsical and fanciful!

Do you have any hobbies other than knitting?

Yes, I play a lot of video games. I’m currently playing inFAMOUS and L.A. Noire. I’m also pretty passionate about Zumba fitness; it’s a cardio fitness class that incorporates Latin dance styles. And I enjoy photography.

What is in your knitting bag right now?

Right now I am working on a pair of socks for my husband. These will be my first pair of socks I knit, ever!

Do you have any advice for new knitters trying to refine their craft?

My only advice would be to never shy away from knitting something because one thinks it’s too hard. There’s no knitting technique one can’t learn from a few Google searches.

Your project photography is beautiful.  What role does photography play in your knitwear documentation, and how do you get such fantastic shots?

Thank you! My interest in photography actually stemmed from my interest in knitting. With the popularity of sharing pictures of ones FO’s online, I marveled at other knitters who not only knit beautiful pieces, but took fantastic shots of them. It became important to me to document my FO’s to the best of my ability. I prefer setting up my shots in natural light, like next a window, and using my Canon 50mm f/1.4 lens to create the effect of shallow depth of field. I do some postproduction in Photoshop as well.

Do you think the internet is changing the world of knitting? If so, how?

Absolutely, I think the internet, and especially social networking, has made it much easier for people to learn how to knit, connect with others who also knit, and obtain resources.

What is your favorite item to knit?

I love to knit sweaters. I think it’s a little obvious since most of the things I’ve knit have been pullovers and cardigans. :)

What is the weirdest comment you’ve gotten about knitting?

“You should sell that!” I don’t like getting into conversations where I have to explain to others that I didn’t create the pattern so therefore I can’t sell the pieces I make from it.

What role, if any, do you think knitting will have in your life  in ten years?

I think knitting will continue to afford me stress relief in ten years!

Finally, ask a question for the next interviewee to answer!

What’s your favorite technique for knitting in the round? Double-pointed needles? Two circulars? Magic loop?

Don't be shy, let me know what you think!

