Knitters You Should Know: MilkyRobot

Meet the next knitter you should know: MilkyRobot!  Jess is a stay-at-home mom from Arizona who designs awesome and original amigurumi.  From monsters to miniature cookies, MilkyRobot will surprise you with the perfect mix of inventive-ness and adorable-ness. Make sure to follow the MilkyRobot blog, etsy, flickr, twitter, facebook, and of course check out Jess’s Ravelry!
 
 
 

How did you get into knitting? 

I got into knitting in 2001 by teaching myself. I sat with a book in my lap and tried each stitch one after another and then took off from there. I start crocheting in October of 2010 the same way, after my second project I was designing my own amigurumi toys. I picked up crochet very quickly!
 Do you have a ‘real world’ job other than design? If so, what do you do?

I did last year, I was an accounts payable for a dealership. Then in October, I left my job to be a stay at home mom to my 2 year old. I work from home though by selling amigurumi patterns, plush and Blythe doll stuff.
Where are you from? 

I’m from San Diego, CA. We moved out to Mesa, Az in 1991 with my family. California is so nice, but I think I would rather live here in Arizona. The summers are beyond hot, but the winters and off seasons are super nice!

What is your favorite knitting spot? Do you have an ‘artistic process’ when it comes to knitting or crochet and design, or do you tote the needles wherever you go?

I will knit or crochet anywhere really haha! From the car to the kitchen, you name it! You will often see me with a crochet hook behind my ear and yarn in my purse. For my amigurumi plush, I like to start out with a sketch and then I usually go from there, but not always.
Describe your average day.

Lets see, other than handling a 2 year old, my day would start out like this… check my email, flickr, facebook and ravelry while eating breakfast. Then during naptime I would work on crochet or knitting until she wakes up, sometimes I would work on projects after she is awake and playing. By the night time I would be checking emails again and often stay up super late to crochet or spin yarn!
Tell me about your favorite project. 

My favorite project so far would have to be my monster Bruiser! He was so fun to create and sketch up. I used all kinds of techniques to create his look and personality, I would love to recreate him someday!

What is your favorite quote? 

“We all die. The goal isn’t to live forever, the goal is to create something that will.” – Chuck Palahniuk
If you could have one splurge knitting purchase and project, what would it be?

Oooo! I would love to make the February Lady Sweater in Dream in Color yarn! That is my favorite yarn, but since I’m plus sized girl, the yarn would cost me a fortune haha!
Who is your favorite crochet designer and why?

I so admire Elisabeth Doherty. Her crochet plush are amazing! I’ve always been a fan of the colors and details she uses on each creation.
Do you have any hobbies other than knitting? 

I do! I customize Blythe dolls and reroot their hair for my side job and hobby at home. Also, I make handspun yarn and dyed roving for my etsy shop occasionally!

What is in your project bag right now?

I have about 3 bags scattered around the house, one has a Felicity hat WIP in it with some yarns I got at the yarn shop, the other bag is filled with doll sized beanies I’ve been crocheting and the last bag is filled with amigurumi pieces and more yarn! I try not to keep too many WIP laying around or I’ll end up frogging them.
Do you have any advice for new knitters trying to refine their craft, or trying to design professionally? Any tips about self-publication? 

Keep at it! If there is no interest at the moment, keep doing it and market yourself any chance you can. Do trades with other crafters with the things you make and design, that way they will show their friends and family and word will get out sooner or later! As for self-publication, keep at that as well! Start small with listing a few patterns you make available. You want to get people interested in the work you do, so be consistent with producing new patterns every once in a while.
What is your favorite item to design? 

Monsters! I love making new amigurumi monsters and giving them all their own personality.

Your project photography is great!  What role does photography play in your knitwear & crochet documentation, and how do you get such fantastic shots? 

I have to thank my hubby for having a great camera for me to use, I shoot on a CanonEOS 5D or my iPhone. I’ve always loved playing around with photography, but it helps that my hubby is a professional photographer, so he has been teaching me the ways. :)
Do you think the internet is changing crochet design? If so, how? 

Crochet is definitely not just for your grandmother anymore, it has been picked up by the new generations and is evolving tremendously! There seems to be no limitations with crochet, if you can imagine it, you can make it!
What is the weirdest comment you’ve gotten about crochet? 

My last zombie monster was super gorey, he had “guts” and blood. One person said “It’s soooooooo creepy and gross, but cute!”

What role, if any, do you think knitting and crochet will have in your life  in ten years? 

I’ll still be doing it! I would hope to have my amigurumi patterns in a book at some point in my life. I’ve worked on it off and on a few times, then had to put it on the back burner. One day, it will happen!
Finally, ask a question for the next interviewee to answer!  

What is your favorite yarn to work with and why?

Comments
2 Responses to “Knitters You Should Know: MilkyRobot”
  1. joelledeanne says:

    Awesome! I’ve followed your Flickr (for a few years now), Twitter and Facebook… and haven’t seem some of these. Jess’ work is awesome—can’t wait to see your patterns in a little book all of their own :)

Don't be shy, let me know what you think!

