Knitters You Should Know: ekatearcher

Here is our next knitter- Erin Kate Archer!  Erin is a college student from New York, and her cozy lomo-esque photography, functional and feminine patterns, and upbeat, optimistic blog all contribute to Erin’s magnetic persona.  Erin is so likeable  and talented that she is not only a knitter you should know, but a knitter you should follow.
 
 
 
 
 

How did you get into knitting?

Well, I started knitting when I was very little when my grandma taught me. But I promptly forgot about it until I was in tenth grade and stumbled upon some knitting blogs and knitty.com. More specifically, the pattern Chapeau Marnier that I just had to have. So I taught myself the basics all over again.

Do you have a ‘real world’ job other than knitting? If so, what do you do?

I’m a college student! But other than that, I waitress and lifeguard during the summertime.

Where are you from? 

I’m from a tiny town in NY that has one grocery store, a school, and a couple of family-owned restaurants. (think Stars Hollow from Gilmore girls). An insider tip would be to never, ever talk about anyone. I can’t tell you how many stories I’ve heard about so-and-so who has done this-horrible-thing only to have so-and-so’s cousin sitting at the table next to you.

What is your favorite knitting spot? Do you have an ‘artistic process’ when it comes to knitting, or do you bring the needles wherever you go?

Anywhere! I knit anywhere I can. I love to knit outside in the summertime or on the beach. (anything is better on the beach!). But as far as my creative process, I work best designing when I’m doing something else. During some of my college classes, I knit & design. I’m best as a multitasker.

Describe your average day.

This question would have been much easier a few weeks ago when I was still in school! Now that it’s summer, my schedule is something like wake up early, go lifeguard (and knit during my breaks), then shower & head to my second job as a waitress (where during the slow times I make sketches of designs I’d like to start) and then once I get home, I finally get some real knitting time or I hang out with friends.

What is your favorite quote?

This changes so often for me! I guess one of my favorite quotes is “without struggle, there is no progress.” I like it because it applies to so much of my life; I’m an avid runner as well as knitter.

Tell me about your favorite project.

It would have to be a tie between my Marlenes and my Ophelia . Marlene is a favorite because they impress everyone (knitters & nonknitters) that sees them, the sweater because it turned out so wearable & soft and it just makes my heart sing.

If you could have one splurge knitting purchase and project, what would it be?

I would love to knit a blanket. (maybe the hemlock ring blanket?) However, I just don’t have the yarn, the time, or the money to do so right now.

Who is your favorite knitwear designer and why?

Norah Gaughan!  I just love the look of the things she makes, so soft, pretty, and natural. I haven’t knit much of her designs but I hope to in the future. ☺

Do you have any hobbies other than knitting?

Oh yes! I also crochet, spin, play piano, run, draw, paint, sing, & read.

What is in your knitting bag right now?

My knitting bag is just my purse (which contains everything but the kitchen sink) with my current project in it. So besides the necessary regular life things, I always carry scissors, measuring tape, a cable needle, and a yarn needle.

Do you have any advice for new knitters trying to refine their craft?

Pick something you think is way out of your league difficulty-wise and work at it until it’s close to perfect. You can learn so much! Also, knit something that you will love and love to use.

Your project photography is beautiful. What role does photography play in your knitwear documentation, and how do you get such fantastic shots?

Awh, Thank you! Photography plays a big part. When I was younger, I was really into photography. But as I got older, knitting took more center stage. So it’s great to combine the two. Besides that, having beautiful photos helps bring more people to your blog or whatever. (unfortunately, it also happens that sometimes people steal the images, I have found pictures of myself on tumblr that I did not post.) As far as how, the most important rule is to take a million pictures. I snap away like crazy & then pick one out of the bunch that worked the best. The other key is natural light, you can’t beat it!

Do you think the internet is changing the world of knitting? If so, how?

Definitely! My friends in college were perplexed by the idea of knitting celebrities, something that hasn’t existed much before! Also, the invention of Ravelry & the new indie designers popping up!

What is your favorite item to knit?

Hats! I love hats. They are quick & functional. Also, I love to give away hats to friends and family.

What is the weirdest comment you’ve gotten about knitting?

An uncle once said to me that he was glad to see me knitting because “it was finally something a woman should do”. Needless to say, we don’t get along.

What role, if any, do you think knitting will have in your life in ten years?

I hope a big one! I’m planning to possibly get a knitting or crocheting tattoo in the next year or so. (I would love to get a knitting or crocheted lace circle, if anyone knows of a drawing like this I could use for inspiration, let me know!)

Finally, ask a question for the next interviewee to answer!

Knitting is an interesting cross between math & art; do you consider yourself a type A or type B personality?

Comments
One Response to “Knitters You Should Know: ekatearcher”
  1. Cheryl says:

    Fantastic photos and designs! Love this series of yours, it’s definitely adding to my blog feed :)

Don't be shy, let me know what you think!

