Knitters You Should Know: NeulovaNarttu

Meet NeulovaNarttu!  Soile is a knitter from Finland, and her gorgeous projects span the spectrum of colors, cables, and lace- with her knitting, slight modifications go a long way to totally transform knits, giving them unique character and beautiful charm.  Soile blogs here, in Finnish- but I encourage you to go and look at her photography even if you don’t speak the language- her pictures speak 1000 words.  (Plus, your internet browser might translate the site to English automatically- mine does!) 
 
 

How did you get into knitting?
I learned to knit at school age about 7. In Finland they teach crafts at school for 1st class to 8th. Then you can choose, if you want, to have extra lessons for a year. At first I was kind of a poor knitter but by age 16 I knitted my first sweater at school. And got really hooked.

Do you have a ‘real world’ job other than knitting? If so, what do you do?
I work at an advertising-agency as a production-AD. It very hectic and demanding so knitting and other crafts get my mind settled.

What is your favorite knitting spot? Do you have an ‘artistic process’ when it comes to knitting, or do you bring the needles wherever you go?
I usually knit on the sofa and watch TV, if there is something interesting going. I can easily knit demanding patterns and watch tv. Sometimes I knit beside our dining table and in our backyard. If we are going on a long car trip I take knitting with me, but otherwise, I knit at home.

Describe your average day.
It sounds very boring when written :) I wake up, eat breakfast, cycle to work (it’s eight kilometers- almost five miles). After work I cycle back, yes even in the winter time, and make a meal. Then I’m with my family, do home stuff and knit or other crafts.

Tell me about your favorite project.
It’s always the one which is on the needles :)

If you could have one splurge knitting purchase and project, what would it be?
That’s really tricky question! Evening dress from silk yarn?

Who is your favorite knitwear designer and why?
I’m sorry to say that I don’t remember the names. But one is clear: Kaffe Fassett. He had a exhibition at Helsinki in the early 90’s and it was amazing!

Do you have any hobbies other than knitting?
I do other crafts like crocheting, spinning, sewing and so. And in the summertime I have my garden where I grow vegetables.

What is in your knitting bag right now?
There is a colorwork cardigan, crocheted granny blanket and lace shawl.

Do you have any advice for new knitters trying to refine their craft?
Just knit it. It’s not rocketscience, just knit. If it goes wrong, frog it. Learn from mistakes and do it again. Do not start with projects that are too difficult, no-one is a master their first time. Not even their second.

Your project photography is beautiful. What role does photography play in your knitwear documentation, and how do you get such fantastic shots?
To tell the truth, the photographer is my husband. And many times he is not so willing to the take the pictures. I always tell him how I like the photos taken, and often, too often, he does it his own way. Of course I want to have good pictures. If you have a good knit which you are proud of, you want to show it with good photos.

Do you think the internet is changing the world of knitting? If so, how?
The basics of knitting will stay as they are, but the patterns will spread more widely. It’s interesting to see different things. Knitting and craft magazines will suffer, as the world of www is so much faster. Internet will globalize the knitting world. It can be good but there is a risk that knitted patterns will be similar all over the world. I would like to see unique things not many times recycled and copied.

What is your favorite item to knit?
I do love knit sweaters, cardigans and shawls.

What role, if any, do you think knitting will have in your life in ten years?
It will keep on going as long as my heart will beat. :)

Comments
One Response to “Knitters You Should Know: NeulovaNarttu”
  1. Julie says:

    Wow, amazing!! Such a colourwork queen!! I completely agree with what she said- my favourite item is always the one I’m working on at the moment. :)

Don't be shy, let me know what you think!

